Spiffy thoughts

The thoughts of a recovering disappointment.

Endulge a math geek wannabe, OK?

Posted by Ammon on March 10, 2008

I have been exploring the following idea for almost a year now and would like some feedback.

Every innovation and inspiration that comes to the mind of any man has a dual nature. It has both the potential for virtue and the potential for evil. These two natures are not mutually exclusive. As the potential for virtue increases, so does the potential for evil. This also has a relationship between the potential positive or negative consequences that accompany that innovation and/or inspiration.

Being a bit of a math geek (not as much as I could be if I had been more dedicated in school … but I digress) I have described it to myself in mathematical relationships because it is how my mind wraps itself around some abstract concepts. It makes sense to me if I see it as a hyperbolic sine function. If you could do with an refresher or explanation of what that means … I’m not enough of a math geek to give it justice, but Wikipedia does a good job.

I say that the positive or negative consequences associated with any given innovation or inspiration has a hyperbolic sine relationship to the potential for virtue and evil.

So … what does that mean? Goooood question. I hope I can answer that.

It means that you can take any given innovation or inspiration that comes to the mind of any man, and you will see that the positive consequences, or the negative consequences that result from that innovation or inspiration, are directly related to the potential for virtue or evil that the given innovation has. Stewardship comes into play when the person makes a choice about how to use that innovation. Positive consequences will result and be directly dependent on the degree to which the potential for virtue is exercised. Negative consequences will result and be directly dependent on the degree to which the potential for evil is exercised.

Here is what it looks like to me.

Did that make any sense at all to anyone but me?

One Response to “Endulge a math geek wannabe, OK?”

  1. Ammon said

    As I learn a little more trigonometric terminology I think that a better function to represent this would be the Inverse Hyperbolic Tangent (ttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverse_hyperbolic_function) function.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
